{"stateName":"District of Columbia","slug":"district-of-columbia","summary":"Get the right D.C. document, choose ONCA mail or walk-in handling and plan the payment and physical return. D.C. authentication is separate from U.S. Department of State federal authentication.","commonDocuments":"Vital records, court records, certified company documents, school records and private notarized documents require separate document checks.","timing":"ONCA\u2019s published mail target is five business days after a complete request; the walk-in sheet offers same-day handling for nine documents or fewer, dependent on volume. Procurement, correction and all transport are separate. [DC-01; DC-02; DC-03]","caveat":"ONCA authenticates D.C. notarial and eligible D.C. government signatures. It is not the federal Office of Authentications. The current page uses NE for 899 North Capitol Street, while parts of its mail guide say NW; confirm the address with ONCA before dispatch. [DC-01; DC-02]","officialResourceName":"D.C. Office of Notary Commissions and Authentications","officialResourceUrl":"https://os.dc.gov/service/authentications","micrositeUrl":null,"lawResourceName":null,"lawResourceUrl":null,"secondaryLawResourceName":null,"secondaryLawResourceUrl":null,"legalNotes":["DC-01 | ONCA \u2014 Authentications | official agency guidance or directory, not transaction acceptance evidence | checked 2026-10-28 | publication/revision: not stated; effective date not independently established | What ONCA authenticates; payment; mail checklist and service address | https://os.dc.gov/service/authentications","DC-02 | ONCA \u2014 Mail In Service Center Guide | official agency guidance or directory, not transaction acceptance evidence | checked 2026-10-28 | publication/revision: printed 2026-04-01; effective date not independently established | physical PDF pp. 3\u20137: preparation, mail sequence, document types, request form | https://os.dc.gov/sites/default/files/dc/sites/os/service_content/attachments/ONCA_Mail_In_Service_Request_Guide_2026_0.pdf","DC-03 | ONCA \u2014 Walk In Same Day Services | official agency guidance or directory, not transaction acceptance evidence | checked 2026-10-28 | publication/revision: not stated; effective date not independently established | PDF pp. 1\u20132, limit, hours, payment and request fields | https://os.dc.gov/sites/default/files/dc/sites/os/service_content/attachments/ONCA_WalkInService%20Center_2025%20(1).pdf","DC-04 | DC Health \u2014 Vital Records | official agency guidance or directory, not transaction acceptance evidence | checked 2026-10-28 | publication/revision: not stated; effective date not independently established | How to Order; fee table; linked current applications and entitlement | https://dchealth.dc.gov/vital-records","DC-05 | DLCP \u2014 Business Registration FAQs | official agency guidance or directory, not transaction acceptance evidence | checked 2026-10-28 | publication/revision: not stated; effective date not independently established | 6a\u20136d: certified filings, apostille referral and good standing | https://dlcp.dc.gov/page/corporations-division-business-registration-faqs","DC-06 | D.C. Courts \u2014 certified marriage record locator | official agency guidance or directory, not transaction acceptance evidence | checked 2026-10-28 | publication/revision: not stated; effective date not independently established | locator only: current direct fetch returned 403; use ONCA category table for court routing, not an unverified fee | https://www.dccourts.gov/superior-court/superior-court-divisions/family-court-operations-division/marriage/order-certified-copy-marriage-record"],"misconceptionTitle":null,"misconceptionIntro":null,"misconceptionNotes":null,"whatWeKnow":["Decide between a D.C. record and a federal record \u2014 A D.C. birth certificate or D.C. notarial act starts with ONCA; an FBI result follows federal preparation. Your location or a Washington mailing address does not change the issuing authority. Start with the canonical apostille foundations for destination routing. [DC-01]","Birth and death: order the issuer\u2019s certified record \u2014 DC Health links current applications and VitalChek remote ordering. It lists $23 birth or $18 death, plus $6 mail processing or $15.95 phone/online processing, with delivery extra. Eligibility and identification are part of procurement. Check the current linked application; an old downloaded form is not proof of today\u2019s instructions. [DC-04]","Keep vital procurement and ONCA return instructions distinct \u2014 Practical preparation: obtain the completed certified record, then prepare the ONCA request. Do not apply an ONCA return-label instruction to a separate VitalChek order. Ask about direct issuer delivery before arranging it so the document, payment and ONCA notification can be matched. [DC-02; DC-04]","Marriage, divorce and orders: obtain the court product \u2014 ONCA\u2019s category table routes D.C. marriage, divorce and name-change records to Superior Court; it also identifies court probate documents. Request the exact certified order or marriage record. The current court locator was inaccessible during this check, so court copy fees, payment and mail-return rules remain unverified. Do not use a birth-record application or invent a court charge. [DC-02; DC-06]","Company records: use BOSS certified output \u2014 In BOSS through Access DC, select Certificates \u0026 Certified Copies, then Certified Copy Request, identify the entity and filing, and make a separate request for each filing. DLCP sends apostille work to the Office of the Secretary; it does not issue the apostille itself. Good-standing, certified articles and Clean Hands are different products. Confirm the actual output and entity-specific order fee before paying. [DC-05]","Schools and private signatures: confirm the D.C. signer \u2014 ONCA\u2019s document table calls for a D.C. notary for college documents. Ask the school to prepare the registrar\u2019s certification and confirm the actual notarial jurisdiction. A school\u2019s D.C. address does not establish that its notary is commissioned there. Private affidavits/powers of attorney also need the correct completed notarial act; ONCA does not notarize them for you. [DC-02]","Mail: complete both request stages \u2014 Submit the online Mail In Services Request Notification, then include the hardcopy request form, eligible documents, self-addressed stamped return envelope and check/money order if using that channel. Card payment follows review through the office\u2019s emailed payment link. Do not send card numbers on ordinary email. [DC-01; DC-02]","Choose payment for the channel \u2014 ONCA lists $15 per document. Checks/money orders name DC Treasurer and must meet its exact-dollar/U.S.-financial-institution instructions; the counter sheet lists checks and American Express, MasterCard or Visa. Keep record-copy, ONCA and shipping costs separate. [DC-01; DC-03]","Mail: arrange the return carrier before dispatch \u2014 ONCA lists daily FedEx/USPS pickup; customers using UPS/DHL must arrange pickup after completion notice. Confirm the NE/NW address discrepancy with notary@dc.gov or (202) 727-3117. A label alone does not arrange a customer-managed pickup. [DC-01; DC-02]","Walk-in: use the actual limit and request form \u2014 The sheet covers nine documents or fewer, without appointment, Monday\u2013Friday 9 a.m.\u20131 p.m. except holidays. Bring eligible originals and the request form; list document/type/count, country and name on the record. Third-party submission is allowed and authentication ID is not required. These are authentication instructions, not a waiver of ID for record procurement or notarization. [DC-03]","Example: two D.C. records and a private company resolution \u2014 Practical example: procure the two issuer-certified records and separately prepare the resolution\u2019s proper notarial act. Identify each document and country on the ONCA form. Ask ONCA how it will count the completed certifications; a bundle is not automatically one billable document. [DC-01; DC-03; DC-05]","FAQ: Does payment or a counter visit guarantee acceptance? \u2014 No. Correct the identified source/certificate defect with the responsible issuer or notary first. Retain any written return reason and ask which document/signature needs correction. Do not remove or restaple a completed official attachment to repair it yourself. Physical/electronic output exceptions require office confirmation. [DC-02]"],"whatMustBeConfirmed":["ONCA: confirm the NE/NW address discrepancy and any direct-issuer or unusual electronic/RON output before shipping.","Superior Court: current copy fees, payee/payment, certification, eligibility and return; direct court page returned 403.","DLCP/ONCA: current entity-specific fee and whether the exact downloaded or physical company certificate is eligible."],"sourceConfidence":"Dated official-source preparation guidance with explicit conflicts and unpublished facts; no completed-transaction acceptance evidence or independent final review claimed.","lastReviewed":"2026-10-28","contentUpdateUrl":null,"canIssueEApostille":null,"eApostilleCapabilityNote":"Electronic apostille availability was not established for this office/document. An electronic source file is not by itself an electronic apostille.","apostillePhysicalSecurityLevel":null,"apostillePhysicalSecurityFeatures":null,"apostillePhysicalSecurityNote":"Keep the completed official attachment intact. Ask the issuing office to resolve an attachment or signature concern; do not detach or add seals yourself.","targetedLawReviewDate":null,"targetedLawReviewScope":null}