{"stateName":"Minnesota","slug":"minnesota","summary":"A source-backed Minnesota reference for preparing official records, school documents, company filings and private papers for foreign use. Follow the public $5-per-certificate mail or appointment route, distinguish issuer-certified emailed company outputs from printed electronic notarizations, and resolve named exceptions without buying unnecessary steps.","commonDocuments":"Minnesota certified birth/death and county marriage records; certified state-court decrees/judgments; notarized school records; SOS-certified company filings and certificates; BCA notarized criminal-history letters; private powers of attorney, consents and affidavits.","timing":"Checked 2026-10-25: the reviewed SOS page/form publish receipt-order handling and appointment scheduling but no fixed numeric mail turnaround. Appointments open fourteen days ahead. Issuer production, corrections and shipping are separate; Hennepin and MDH estimates/queue observations below have their own dates and scope. [MN-01: urgent-mail and appointment FAQs; MN-02: p.1; MN-07; MN-08; MN-10.]","caveat":"Ordinary paper routes are explained below. BCA procurement, blocked MDH PDFs, unusual electronic/court outputs and recipient-specific acceptance remain named questions. Agency procedure, statute, original explanation and uncertainty are distinguished; this guide does not establish every document category or destination.","officialResourceName":"Minnesota Secretary of State Apostille Authentication","officialResourceUrl":"https://www.sos.mn.gov/notary-apostille/apostille-authentication/","micrositeUrl":null,"lawResourceName":"Minnesota Statutes section 358.65: Certificate of Notarial Act","lawResourceUrl":"https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/358.65","secondaryLawResourceName":"Official Apostille Authentication Request Form","secondaryLawResourceUrl":"https://www.sos.mn.gov/media/4253/authentication-mail-form.pdf","legalNotes":["HCCH-01 | Convention of 5 October 1961 Abolishing the Requirement of Legalisation for Foreign Public Documents | Treaty text | checked 2026-10-25 | concluded 1961-10-05 | PDF p.1 Articles1\u20133; p.2 Articles4\u201310; p.3 Articles12\u201313 | https://assets.hcch.net/docs/b12ad529-5f75-411b-b523-8eebe86613c0.pdf","MN-01 | Minnesota SOS Apostille Authentication | Official competent-authority procedure | checked 2026-10-25 | source publication/revision/effective date not stated | How to Get an Apostille; Apostille Document Guide; all nine FAQ topic groups, especially General Information, Vital Records, School Documents, Notarized Documents and Business Entity Records | https://www.sos.mn.gov/notary-apostille/apostille-authentication/","MN-02 | Apostille Authentication Request Form | Official application form | checked 2026-10-25 | revision/page date 2024-07-26 | PDF p.1 requester/payment/document count; Special Instructions; Return Mail Address; common rejection checklist; footer Rev.07/26/2024 | https://www.sos.mn.gov/media/4253/authentication-mail-form.pdf","MN-03 | How to order copies of filings and certificates | Official records-issuer procedure | checked 2026-10-25 | source publication/revision/effective date not stated | How to Order Copies \u0026 Certificates Online steps1\u20137; Certificate of Status steps1\u201311; To Order Copies \u0026 Certificates by Mail | https://www.sos.mn.gov/business-liens/business-help/how-to-order-copies-of-filings-certificates","MN-04 | Business Copies and Certificates Information; Business Certificate/Copy Request Form | Official records-issuer form | checked 2026-10-25 | source publication/revision/effective date not stated | PDF p.1 copy/certificate fee table, entity-type distinction, online/mail-only statement and instructions; p.2 requester, Record Details, electronic delivery condition and payment | https://www.sos.mn.gov/media/2981/certificatecopyrequest.pdf","MN-05 | How to Schedule an Appointment | Official competent-authority appointment procedure | checked 2026-10-25 | source publication/revision/effective date not stated | Apostille Authentication appointment type; booking steps; fourteen-day availability; confirmation/cancellation | https://www.sos.mn.gov/business-liens/business-help/how-to-schedule-an-appointment/","MN-06 | Available Records and Services | Official vital-record issuer guidance | checked 2026-10-25 | revision/page date 2026-08-31 | Ordering overview; Birth records and amendments table; Death records and amendments table; Marriage and divorce records; Long form birth certificates | https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/vitalrecords/birthnc.html","MN-07 | Minnesota Vital Records and Certificates | Official vital-record issuer guidance, indexed text | checked 2026-10-25 | agency queue snapshot as of 2026-10-20; source revision/effective date not stated | MDH PROCESSING TIMES as of2026-10-20; county versus MDH service; Fees and payment | https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/vitalrecords/death.html","MN-08 | Hennepin County Birth certificate | Official county records-issuer procedure | checked 2026-10-25 | source publication/revision/effective date not stated | Fees; Processing times; How to apply: mail/drop-off, fax and in-person; Verification of birth | https://www.hennepincounty.gov/services/licenses-certificates/birth-certificate","MN-09 | Hennepin County Birth Certificate Request | Official county application form | checked 2026-10-25 | revision/page date 2026-02 | PDF p.1 relationship/confidentiality categories and signature/notary block; p.2 fees, VA-use restriction, processing option and submission address | https://www.hennepincounty.gov/-/media/Hennepin-Headless/Hennepin-Gov/services/licenses-certificates/birth/certified-birth-certificate-application.pdf?hash=FDF76408244ECE472B8493560A4FAD25\u0026rev=5981af3ce7ff43bd875b5746f2d83f6e","MN-10 | Hennepin County Death certificate | Official county records-issuer procedure | checked 2026-10-25 | source publication/revision/effective date not stated | Availability; Fees; Processing times; How to apply by mail/drop-off, fax or in person | https://www.hennepincounty.gov/services/licenses-certificates/death-certificate","MN-11 | University of Minnesota Twin Cities: Notarization and apostille | Official issuing-institution procedure | checked 2026-10-25 | source publication/revision/effective date not stated | Notarization; Notarize in person; Apostille; Process documents at the same time; Duplicate diploma processing time; Translating your records | https://onestop.umn.edu/academics/transcripts-and-grades/notarization-and-apostille","MN-12 | Minnesota Judicial Branch Copy Requests | Official court records-issuer guidance | checked 2026-10-25 | source publication/revision/effective date not stated | Overview: plain, certified and exemplified copies; fee units; confidential records; excluded record categories | https://mncourts.gov/help-topics/copy-request","MN-13 | 2025 Minnesota Statutes section358.65: Certificate of Notarial Act | Controlling statute, published2025 codification | checked 2026-10-25 | source publication/revision/effective date not stated | Subdivisions1\u20133 certificate, stamp and sufficiency; subdivisions5\u20136 completed act and attachment | https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/358.65","MN-14 | Minnesota SOS Find a Notary | Official notary-status guidance | checked 2026-10-25 | source publication/revision/effective date not stated | Status/history versus hiring distinction; search fields; E/RON authority; possible local providers | https://www.sos.mn.gov/notary-apostille/notary-help/find-a-notary/","MN-15 | Minnesota Apostille Verification | Official issuing-authority register interface | checked 2026-10-25 | source publication/revision/effective date not stated | File Number and Issue Date fields; pre-2018-05-15/no-record directions; scope of verification | https://apostille.sos.mn.gov/Search","MN-16 | Minnesota SOS County Recording of Commission | Official notary commissioning guidance | checked 2026-10-25 | source publication/revision/effective date not stated | Recording after new/reappointed/renewed/name/county change; recording fee and enforcement note | https://www.sos.mn.gov/notary-apostille/notary-help/county-recording-of-commission/","MN-17 | Minnesota SOS Remote Online Notarization Authorization FAQ | Official notary authorization guidance | checked 2026-10-25 | source publication/revision/effective date not stated | Remote online authorization term, registration and termination; statutory references | https://www.sos.mn.gov/notary-apostille/notary-help/remote-online-notarization-authorization-faq/?searchTerm=notary","MN-18 | Minnesota MDH Change a Birth Record | Official records-correction procedure | checked 2026-10-25 | revision/page date 2026-02-19 | Corrections; Amendments; How to request an amendment; eligible requesters; replacement distinction | https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/vitalrecords/change.html","MN-19 | Hennepin County Death Certificate Application | official county application PDF, text and both pages visually inspected | checked 2026-10-25 | revision 2026-02, month precision; effective date not stated | pp.1\u20132 eligibility, cause/no-cause choices, notarial block, fee/VA restriction, payment and mailing address | https://www.hennepincounty.gov/-/media/Hennepin-Headless/Hennepin-Gov/services/licenses-certificates/death/certified-death-certificate-application.pdf?hash=4AD31CF4C8E6B001AF8B025C7D3365C5\u0026rev=a9241ec9242d442eae0abeba8e8833e7","MN-20 | HCCH Implementation chart of the e-APP | official HCCH implementation report, country-supplied information | checked 2026-10-25 | chart revision/publication date not established; Minnesota pilot 2024-03-15 through 2025-09-30 | PDF p.10 Minnesota row; p.13 footnote on legitimate pilot-issued e-Apostilles; p.1 update-delay caveat | https://assets.hcch.net/docs/e8e7549d-e34a-452f-9fa3-cf2241aa4197.pdf"],"misconceptionTitle":"Certified records, notarized copies and electronic outputs follow different routes","misconceptionIntro":"The question is which official signature is authenticated and which version the receiving authority actually requires. A second stamp does not fix a wrong record.","misconceptionNotes":["The single Minnesota state certificate used since2018-05-15 does not make every destination a Convention destination or eliminate every further non-Convention step. [MN-01: General Information and Apostille Submitted by Mail; HCCH-01: Articles1\u20133.]","A certified vital/court record normally does not need notarization, but a school seal alone does not satisfy SOS\u2019s transcript preparation rule. [MN-01: Apostille Document Guide.]","A printed electronic notarial document is not treated like the expressly accepted printed emailed SOS-certified company record. Hennepin\u2019s e-notarized application is a third, distinct stage. [MN-01: Notarized Documents and Business Entity Records; MN-08: application.]","The public register verifies issuance, not a degree, translation or document\u2019s substantive truth. [MN-15: verification scope; HCCH-01: Articles5\u20137.]"],"whatWeKnow":["Start with the receiving office and the actual record \u2014 Write down the requested document, issuer, version, age, purpose, translation and delivery format. Ask whether an apostille is needed at all: an exemption or simpler accepted procedure can make it unnecessary. For Convention use, check the relationship covering the United States and destination, including territorial scope and objections, on the relevant use date. This guide explains Minnesota-origin routes; it is not an all-country acceptance catalogue. [HCCH-01: Articles 1\u20133,12\u201313; MN-01: FAQ General Information.]","Understand what the certificate proves \u2014 An apostille authenticates the official signature, the signer\u2019s capacity and, where appropriate, the seal or stamp. It does not determine whether the document\u2019s contents are true, a degree is recognized, a translation is accurate or a transaction is lawful. It also does not supply a missing court order or make an uncertified record an issuer-certified one. Those are different questions that the recipient or originating authority may still need answered. [HCCH-01: Articles 3 and5; MN-01: What is an Apostille? Original explanation of the consequence of limited authentication.]","Minnesota uses one state certificate even outside the Convention route \u2014 Since May 15, 2018, SOS says it issues a single Apostille for documents used outside the United States regardless of destination. Do not instruct a Minnesota customer to buy a separate differently named state certification solely because the destination is outside the Convention. The same Minnesota output does not create a treaty relationship: for a non-Convention destination, establish the recipient\u2019s and relevant federal/consular authorities\u2019 further requirements. A foreign shipping address alone is not a foreign-use requirement. [MN-01: FAQ General Information, Does the Minnesota Secretary of State issue an Apostille or Authentication Certificate?; FAQ Apostille Submitted by Mail; HCCH-01: Articles 1\u20133.]","Sort by the signature that needs authentication \u2014 Separate certified vital/county/court records, SOS-certified company records, school documents, BCA criminal-history letters and private notarized papers. The first two groups may already have an authenticatable official certification; the other groups can need a specific notarial preparation. Do not add the same notary cover sheet to every document. A court case located in Minnesota does not make a federal court document a Minnesota state-court record; an out-of-state school record follows its originating state\u2019s instructions. [MN-01: Apostille Document Guide; FAQ Background Checks and School Documents; HCCH-01: Articles 1 and6. Federal/state distinction is original route analysis.]","Separate notarizing an application from notarizing the resulting record \u2014 You may need a notary to sign a mailed request for a birth certificate. That authenticates your application; it does not mean the resulting official certified birth certificate needs another notarization. SOS\u2019s certified-record list expressly needs no additional notary act. This distinction prevents paying twice and protects the official record from an unnecessary extra statement. Use the specific issuer\u2019s request instructions first, then the SOS document category. [MN-08: How to apply; MN-09: p. 1 signature block; MN-01: Apostille Document Guide, original certified documents.]","Know which vital record you are buying \u2014 A certified birth or death certificate is issued on security paper; a noncertified informational record is a different product. MDH lists birth records from 1900 and death records from 1908 across vital-record offices, with older records directed to the county of occurrence. A verification that a record exists is not the certificate itself. Ordering the cheaper informational product does not satisfy an ordinary certified-certificate request, although it can have a specific role in the long-form package explained below. [MN-06: Birth records and amendments; Death records and amendments; availability footnotes; MN-08: Verification of birth.]","Check vital-record access before ordering \u2014 Hennepin\u2019s current birth application requires the requester to identify an eligible relationship or legal basis and separates access to public and confidential records. Being able to see an index entry is not authority to obtain every certified record. Complete the applicable relationship boxes, supply the requested supporting authority, and leave the signature for the notary or county counter as instructed. A certified court order is different from a subpoena in the application\u2019s court-order access categories. [MN-09: p. 1 requester and mandatory relationship categories 1\u201323.]","A worked birth-certificate order through Hennepin County \u2014 For an eligible requester, open the county\u2019s current two-page certified application, enter the birth/requester facts, choose the relationship basis, and complete the required notarization for a mail/drop-off order. Include a check or money order and use the application\u2019s address: Hennepin County Vital Records Office, Hennepin County Government Center,300 South6th St,MC-678B,Minneapolis,MN55487-0678. Make the check payable to Hennepin County Treasurer. The current February 2026 form prices one certificate at $26 and extra copies in that purchase at $19 each. This is a public county option, not the address or payment for SOS. [MN-08: Mail or drop off; MN-09: pp. 1\u20132.]","Choose county birth-record timing with its actual conditions \u2014 Hennepin publishes regular preparation within three weeks of receipt; its faster one-week birth option requires dropping off the application/payment, an additional $20 and an Expedite marking. Most in-person copies can be issued when applying, subject to staffing; pre-1935 records can take longer. The faster fee excludes overnight return delivery. These are record-procurement options, checked October 25, 2026, not SOS apostille processing or promises that every Minnesota county offers the same service. [MN-08: Processing times; MN-09: p. 2 faster-processing row.]","Death certificates use a separate application and fee \u2014 Hennepin\u2019s current page prices a certified death copy at $13, with $6 for extra copies; it lists Hennepin deaths from 1870 and other Minnesota counties from 1997. Its February 2026 application distinguishes certificates with or without cause of death, with the no-cause version limited to 1997 onward. For mail/fax, complete the required eligibility and notarized signature; in person, bring the unsigned form, identification and payment. For mail, send the application and check/money order payable to Hennepin County Treasurer to Vital Records Office, Hennepin County Government Center, 300 South 6th St, MC-678B, Minneapolis, MN 55487-0678. Its page publishes three-week regular and one-week faster preparation, with an extra $20/Expedite marking; mailing time is additional. [MN-10: Availability, Fees, Processing times and How to apply; MN-19: pp. 1\u20132.]","Long-form birth requests need an honest substitute explanation \u2014 Minnesota no longer issues a long-form birth certificate. MDH recommends a certified birth certificate, a noncertified birth record and its policy memo; for pre-2001 births, specifically request an image of the paper record. Explain this to the recipient before purchasing, because it decides whether the substitute answers its question. SOS says the certified certificate is one document, while the noncertified record and policy memo need appropriate Minnesota notarization before apostille; all three cannot be presented as one document. Do not staple them together and assume one $5 certificate covers everything. [MN-06: Long form birth certificates; MN-01: FAQ Vital Records, long-form question.]","Marriage certificates come from the county that filed the license \u2014 MDH does not record marriages or divorces. Its marriage-record guidance points to the county office that issued the marriage license; its linked Minnesota Official Marriage System can help locate the county. Order that county\u2019s certified marriage certificate, not a keepsake, souvenir, blank license application or merely an index printout. SOS expressly excludes the souvenir certificate and accepts the certified Minnesota record. County procurement fees, forms and delivery options are separate from the $5 apostille. [MN-06: Marriage and divorce records; MN-01: FAQ Vital Records, marriage and keepsake questions.]","Court orders require the court\u2019s certified product \u2014 Obtain a certified divorce decree or judgment from the Minnesota district court holding the proceeding, identify the case number and exact document, and use its copy-request procedure. The Judicial Branch distinguishes free plain copies, generally $14 certified copies, and generally $14 exemplified copies;$28 applies when both certified and exemplified are requested, unless fees are waived in the case. SOS lists certified decrees/judgments directly; exemplification is not a uniform extra prerequisite. Ask why an exemplified copy is required before buying one. Sealed/adoption/juvenile records may need access paperwork. A publicly downloadable plain copy is not the requested certified product. [MN-12: Overview, copy types and access limits; MN-01: Apostille Document Guide.]","Treat unfamiliar court electronic outputs as a named question \u2014 The court\u2019s description allows an image of its seal on a certified copy, while SOS\u2019s express electronic-notary rejection addresses printed notarized electronic documents. Those are not automatically the same product. For an electronically delivered court certification unlike the ordinary certified paper record, preserve the court\u2019s full certification and ask SOS whether that exact output is accepted on paper or needs a different issuer-certified version. Do not apply the company-record print exception to all electronic court records, and do not convert the decree into a private copy statement without recipient evidence. [MN-12: certified-copy description; MN-01: FAQ Notarized Documents and Business Entity Records. Unresolved comparison, not an acceptance finding.]","School seals do not replace the required notarization \u2014 SOS says a Minnesota transcript bearing only a school official\u2019s signature and registrar-applied school seal is insufficient: the transcript must be properly notarized by a Minnesota notary. Its rule covers K-12, college and university transcripts. A school\u2019s sealed envelope will be opened by SOS to inspect the notarization. If the recipient requires a sealed transcript, plan with the registrar/recipient how it should be delivered after authentication rather than assuming the original seal can remain untouched. [MN-01: Apostille Document Guide, Transcripts; FAQ Minnesota School Documents.]","Diploma original or copy is a recipient decision \u2014 SOS\u2019s school FAQ permits properly notarized originals or photocopies of Minnesota diplomas and tells the requester to establish which the receiving country requires. That does not authorize misdescribing a copy as the original or establish that a student\u2019s statement meets a recipient\u2019s demand for a registrar-certified record. Obtain the school\u2019s preparation instructions and the recipient\u2019s exact version first. Out-of-state school records need the originating state\u2019s process. [MN-01: FAQ Minnesota School Documents, diploma and out-of-state questions.]","University of Minnesota gives a concrete school pathway \u2014 The Twin Cities Registrar offers appointment-only notarization of original transcripts, enrollment verifications and diplomas at One Stop in Bruininks Hall. Request notarization when requesting records; ask its office for paper transcripts/enrollment verification if needed. Its current guidance publishes two to three weeks for duplicate diplomas regardless of notarization or priority shipping. That production period comes before SOS. It also tells students to establish the complete requested set, possibly including course descriptions, so a later missing-record request does not restart procurement. This example is specific to UMN, not a statewide university service guarantee. [MN-11: Notarization; Notarize in person; Process documents at the same time; Duplicate diploma processing time.]","Choose the correct company product \u2014 An official copy of filed articles, a certificate of good standing/existence and a private company resolution answer different questions. The SOS copies form says the original incorporation/organization certificate is part of the original filing; ordering good standing does not retrieve that document. Good standing addresses compliance with required filings/fees at issuance, not future compliance or every underlying business activity. Start with the exact recipient request and entity/file number. A private resolution or company power of attorney follows its required notarial route instead of becoming a filed-record copy. [MN-04: p. 1 copy/certificate descriptions and Which product questions; MN-01: certified company records and private documents.]","Order official company copies online or by mail \u2014 In Business Filings Online, search the entity, open Details, choose Order Copies, select the actual filings and choose Certified rather than Non-Certified. Online delivery is electronic; a paid certified copy includes a Certification of Record page. For mail, use the two-page Business Certificate/Copy Request Form with the entity\u2019s Record Details/history printout and payment. The current form says copy/certificate orders are online or mail only, not in-person. SOS\u2019s apostille FAQ allows mailing that copy request together with the Authentication Request Form and appropriate procurement plus apostille fees. [MN-03: How to Order Copies \u0026 Certificates Online steps 1\u20137; MN-04: p. 1 instructions; MN-01: FAQ Business Entity Records.]","Print emailed SOS-certified company output exactly as instructed \u2014 This is a specific accepted paper presentation: SOS tells customers to print every filing and every Certification of Record page from its emailed certified copies, then mail them with the authentication form and fee. It separately permits printing an emailed good-standing/existence certificate for apostille. Preserve the complete issuer file and its certification; a free search printout or omitted certification page is a different product. This express exception does not mean any emailed PDF or electronic notarization can simply be printed and accepted. [MN-01: FAQ Business Entity Records, both Option 1 branches; MN-03: certified-copy explanation.]","Company procurement fees are separate from apostille \u2014 The current business form lists $3 per filing plus a $5 certification fee for a certified copy; a standalone good-standing or existence/registration certificate is $5. It distinguishes available certificate types by entity type. For a fictional one-filing certified-copy order, the listed procurement components are $3 \u002B $5 = $8; adding one $5 apostille makes $13 before postage or optional assistance. For multiple filings, first establish how the actual order is certified and how many apostille certificates are needed; do not multiply by page count or assume one certification covers every independently required document. [MN-04: p. 1 fee table and entity-type table; MN-02: p. 1 $5 certificate fee. Arithmetic example is original analysis.]","Keep company delivery clocks distinct \u2014 The online ordering guidance says certificates are issued upon payment, later describing status-certificate delivery within 10\u201315 minutes, while some copy orders take 7\u201310 days. Its certificate download link lasts 90 days; save the issued file rather than relying on that link indefinitely. A mailed copy request is emailed only when the email is linked to an existing online account; otherwise the form says it is mailed. These are procurement/delivery facts, checked October 25, 2026, not completed apostille timing or a guarantee that an order immediately clears every review. [MN-03: ordering overview, delivery step 7 and certificate steps 3,11; MN-04: p. 2 electronic-delivery note.]","Private documents need the actual notarial act \u2014 Powers of attorney, consents and affidavits must be properly notarized by a Minnesota notary for this state route. An acknowledgment concerns execution; an oath/verification concerns a sworn statement. Follow the document\u2019s lawful requirement and do not choose an act only because a foreign template contains a blank stamp space. The SOS office supplies apostilles, not notarial services, so arrange the needed act beforehand. Ask a bank, workplace, library or local notary about suitable low-cost service and availability; a mobile appointment is an optional convenience. [MN-01: FAQ Notarized Documents and no-notarial-services question; MN-13: subdivisions 1\u20133; MN-14: possible local providers.]","Check the certificate, not just the stamp \u2014 The statute requires a contemporaneous signed/dated certificate, jurisdiction, officer title and notary commission-expiration information, with the required stamp and attachment for a tangible record. SOS\u2019s apostille instructions additionally describe an English certificate and original wet signature for their paper submission. Attribute those English/wet-paper requirements to the agency\u2019s procedure: section 358.65 itself also addresses electronic records and does not state a universal English-only rule in its listed elements. Select the proper statutory form or another legally sufficient form for the act; complete all facts accurately before submission. [MN-13: subdivisions 1\u20133,5\u20136; MN-01: Apostille Document Guide, Proper notarization; FAQ Notarized Documents.]","Verify the notary\u2019s authority at the time of the act \u2014 Compare the notary\u2019s commission name, signature/stamp and expiration details with the official record. SOS explains that the stamp name must match the commission and notes its renewal exception for continuing to use a still-unexpired stamp. Its notary-status tool shows current status, commission history and E/RON authority; it is a verification tool, not a promise to locate an available provider. A notary\u2019s obligation to record a commission with the county is separate from requiring every customer to obtain county authentication for each document. [MN-01: Valid Minnesota Notary Commission/Notary Stamp; MN-14: status and history; MN-16: County Recording of Commission.]","Identity-copy requests do not require mailing original IDs \u2014 The SOS FAQ instructs a Minnesota driver-license/ID copy or passport copy to be notarized as a true and correct copy and specifically warns against sending the original identity document. That authenticates the notarial copy act, not direct issuance by a passport authority. Establish that the recipient actually accepts this copy route and what information it requires. Keep an identity-copy request distinct from a request for a federally issued certified record. [MN-01: FAQ Driver Licenses/Identification; HCCH-01: Articles 1 and5; consequence explained by Notary Geek.]","Single-status requests can have different sources \u2014 SOS describes county no-marriage-record letters and signer-created sworn single-status statements as different routes. Its named Hennepin exception matters: that county\u2019s Verification of No Marriage Record is not certified, so SOS says it needs proper Minnesota notarization. Do not assume a county letter is automatically certified, or that a search of one county proves no marriage anywhere. Obtain the recipient\u2019s requested statement, geographic scope and time period, and describe accurately what the chosen document establishes. [MN-01: FAQ Vital Records, letter of Single Status; scope explanation is original analysis.]","Minnesota criminal history and FBI history are not interchangeable \u2014 SOS requires a notarized BCA letter for the Minnesota criminal-history route and routes FBI checks to the U.S. Department of State because it cannot apostille that federal product. A public search printout, local police letter and BCA notarized result are distinct records. This check could not inspect current BCA procurement instructions because the linked DPS page was restricted/robots-blocked. Before purchasing a state check, ask BCA specifically for the notarized letter for apostille, current application/identity requirements, fee, submission/return and processing. No unverified BCA $15 price or address is adopted here. [MN-01: FAQ Background Checks/Criminal History Record; failed-retrieval note in source evidence.]","Translations are separate documents when submitted for apostille \u2014 SOS does not provide translation services. Its vital-record translation FAQ requires appropriate Minnesota notarization with the notarial wording in English; the rest may be another language. It expressly treats an official certified birth record and its notarized translation as two documents receiving separate apostilles. First establish whether the recipient wants translation at all, by which authorized translator and whether the apostille itself must also be translated. State authentication of a translator\u2019s notarial signature does not certify linguistic accuracy or replace the source record. [MN-01: FAQ Vital Records, translated certificate questions; FAQ Notarized Documents, other language; HCCH-01: Article 5.]","Use the actual authentication form and its fields \u2014 Download the one-page SOS Apostille Authentication Request Form linked here, revision July 26, 2024. It asks for name, contact/return address, optional company, email, document count, payment total, special instructions and an optional existing SOS client account. Leave the account blank if you have none; you do not need to invent an account number. Use special instructions for a different return destination and necessary explanation. The form does not show a destination-country field, despite the importance of obtaining destination instructions yourself; do not claim the state mandates a nonexistent field. [MN-02: p. 1 requester fields, client-account note, Special Instructions and Return Mail Address.]","Count certificates before writing the payment \u2014 SOS charges $5 per apostille certificate. Three separately authenticated documents therefore mean $15 in SOS apostille charges, not $5 for an envelope or $5 for each sheet of a multipage certified record. The long-form and translation rules can create several separately submitted documents even when they relate to the same person. If a composite record has several certifications or an unusual attachment, establish the certificate count rather than inventing a universal per-signature/page rule. Issuer fees, notary fees and postage are different cost categories. [MN-02: p. 1 fee and document-count fields; MN-01: long-form and translation FAQs. Arithmetic and cost comparison are original analysis.]","Choose payment for the channel you use \u2014 For an apostille sent by mail, include a check or money order payable to MN Secretary of State. At an apostille appointment, SOS lists credit card, debit card, cash, check or money order. Do not import the broader business-copy form\u2019s cash/client-account instructions as permission to mail cash for an ordinary apostille order; use the apostille-specific instructions. Keep a record of the check or money-order number because the status FAQ asks for it when locating a mailed request. [MN-01: How to Get an Apostille, Fees and Acceptable Payment by channel; FAQ Apostille Submitted by Mail; MN-02: payee and optional account field.]","Send the mail request to the current apostille office \u2014 Include the Minnesota certified or properly notarized documents, completed authentication form and fee. The address on both the current page and form is Minnesota Secretary of State,First National Bank Building, 332 Minnesota Street, Suite N201, Saint Paul, MN 55101. Do not substitute an old 60 Empire Drive address or the office\u2019s separate elections/administration address. This is also the published appointment location, but mailing a packet does not book an appointment or create a counter-service commitment. [MN-01: By Mail and Appointments are conducted at; MN-02: p. 1 mailing block.]","Choose return service explicitly \u2014 SOS ordinarily returns documents to the form\u2019s address unless another destination is specified. It offers regular USPS return at no charge without tracking, or permits an enclosed prepaid FedEx, USPS Priority Mail or UPS label for tracking. The form also permits a self-addressed stamped envelope or prepaid label with additional services. Put the intended return details on the form; do not rely on the fallback address on a check. Prepay the actual service you need and establish any international-carrier destination constraints. Faster postage moves the packet after processing; it does not buy priority in the state queue. [MN-01: By Mail, return note; General Information, urgent mail question; MN-02: p. 1 Return Mail Address.]","Appointments have a document limit and no walk-in substitute \u2014 Book the Apostille Authentication appointment type through the linked official scheduling instructions; slots become available fourteen days ahead. SOS says no walk-ins, allows another person to present the request, and accommodates up to ten documents per appointment. For more than ten, its FAQ says mail or drop them off with payment; do not assume a drop-off receives while-you-wait handling or arrange repeated bookings to evade the published limit. The business-filing appointment\u2019s two-form limit is a different appointment category, not the apostille ten-document limit. [MN-01: FAQ In-Person Apostille Appointments; MN-05: booking steps and appointment types.]","Keep processing claims dated and bounded \u2014 Checked October 25, 2026, the reviewed SOS apostille page and request form do not publish a fixed numeric mail turnaround; the FAQ says requests are processed in receipt order. Overnight inbound/return delivery does not expedite that processing. If the deadline cannot tolerate queue uncertainty, compare an available appointment with mail, and use the published urgent-request email only for an actual scheduling question; an email is not acceptance or guaranteed acceleration. Add record production, correction, notary preparation and transport time separately. No old two-business-day brochure estimate or vendor expedite promise is adopted. [MN-01: FAQ General Information, urgent mail and appointments-booked questions; MN-02: p. 1.]","Read an MDH queue date as a historical snapshot \u2014 The official indexed MDH page, as of October 20, 2026, reports completed/mailed ordinary birth/death orders received by October 12 and expedited orders received by October 13. That is an observed received-through queue, not eight days promised for a new order and not the SOS queue. MDH\u2019s general information favors a county visit for many routine records and does not offer its own in-person service; some specialized records remain MDH-only. Direct retrieval of the main index and several linked MDH PDFs failed in this research, so their bytes were not silently certified as reviewed. [MN-07: MDH PROCESSING TIMES and county/MDH distinction; MN-06: ordering overview and availability.]","RON validity, printed output and e-Apostille are three questions \u2014 Minnesota has a separate RON authorization regime, but the current SOS apostille FAQ rejects printed electronically notarized documents without appropriate further notarization. That is not a claim that Minnesota law prohibits RON. Hennepin accepts e-notarized vital-record applications, and SOS expressly permits printing its own emailed certified company outputs; those are distinct records and stages. HCCH\u2019s implementation chart records Minnesota\u2019s genuine e-Apostille pilot from March 15, 2024 (2024-03-15) through September 30, 2025 (2025-09-30), when the pilot ended. The chart states that e-Apostilles issued during that pilot remain legitimate and validly issued e-Apostilles, not tests. Do not reject a genuine historical pilot file merely because today\u2019s ordinary instructions describe paper, or treat a scan as a pilot original. Current new e-Apostille issuance availability was not established here. [MN-17: authorization regime; MN-01: FAQ Notarized Documents and Business Entity Records; MN-08: application notarization; MN-10: application notarization; MN-20: p.10 Minnesota row and p.13 pilot-validity footnote.]","Verify the issued certificate without treating the register as document approval \u2014 Minnesota\u2019s public register asks for the apostille file number and issue date. SOS describes online verification for certificates issued May 15, 2018 or later; the register directs earlier or missing records back to the authority\u2019s apostille instructions. Check that the result corresponds to the certificate and the authenticated official, not merely that some number exists. A successful lookup verifies issuance, not the truth of the birth, degree or transaction; a missing lookup alone does not establish fraud. Keep the stamped/stapled paper attachment intact and supply the physical packet if the recipient requires it. [MN-15: search fields, scope and no-record directions; MN-01: How is an apostille issued?; HCCH-01: Articles 4\u20137.]","Repair the defective stage rather than adding another stamp \u2014 The request form flags absent/improper certificates, invalid or mismatched commissions, unnotarized private documents, insufficient fees, out-of-state origin and missing original signatures. Keep any rejection notice and identify the precise defect. An issuer-record error goes to its issuer; a notarial defect goes back to the notary; an omitted certification page or fee goes back through the application route. MDH\u2019s birth-amendment process is separate from simply reordering a certificate. Do not rewrite a completed certificate yourself or attach another document to an issued apostille. Ask about resubmission and any new fee for the exact case; no blanket refund or free-rework rule was established. [MN-02: p. 1 rejection checklist; MN-18: Corrections and Amendments; MN-13: certificate/act requirements.]","Fictional example: the electronically notarized request is not the authenticated record \u2014 Sofia abroad needs a certified Minnesota birth certificate. Hennepin\u2019s published e-notarization allowance may let her complete its record-order application without traveling to Minnesota. She orders the eligible certified paper record and then submits that issuer-certified record to SOS with the authentication form and $5. She does not ask SOS to authenticate the printed remote application in place of the birth certificate. Her foreign recipient still decides whether the chosen record, age and translation meet its requirements. This is a teaching example, not a completed customer order or a promise that every foreign notarial certificate is accepted. [MN-08: mail/fax application; MN-01: certified vital-record branch; MN-02: fee; HCCH-01: Article 5.]","Fictional example: one school record can fail despite an impressive seal \u2014 Amir has a Minnesota university transcript with an embossed school seal, but no notarial certificate. SOS\u2019s school rule requires notarization, so extra postage or a paid handler cannot repair the missing act. He asks the registrar for the needed notarized record and confirms whether the recipient accepts the envelope being opened for inspection. He uses the state form and pays the certificate fee only after preparation. The apostille authenticates the resulting signature route; it is not an independent assessment that his degree is accredited or equivalent abroad. [MN-01: Transcripts and School Documents; HCCH-01: Articles 3 and5. Fictional route analysis.]","Compare official direct options with optional assistance \u2014 Mail is available without hiring a service; an appointment can avoid mail transit when a suitable slot and prepared documents are available. A helper may present documents because SOS does not require the presenter to be the named subject. Optional paid help may be useful for understanding document categories, coordinating an issuer correction, checking a notarial certificate or managing a submission, but it does not change state eligibility, recipient requirements or the official queue. Obtain any provider\u2019s actual scope, charges and terms separately. [MN-01: By Mail and FAQ In-Person, who may request; original comparison of public options.]"],"whatMustBeConfirmed":["BCA procurement: SOS establishes the notarized-letter requirement, but the linked current DPS instructions were restricted/robots-blocked. The specific current BCA form, identity/fingerprint requirements, fee, address, return and timing remain unverified; request the notarized letter intended for apostille, not a public-search printout. [MN-01: FAQ Background Checks.]","MDH PDF access: the state birth, death, noncertified birth and long-form memo PDFs returned403. Their current byte-level revision, exact mailing/payment and signature fields were not inspected. Use the directly inspected Hennepin example when suitable, or obtain the exact current MDH form; do not treat the county address as the MDH address. [MN-06; MN-08; MN-09.]","Long-form package: which substitute components the recipient actually needs, their required notarial wording and resulting separate apostille count. SOS excludes presenting all three as one document; no combined-fee shortcut is established. [MN-01; MN-06.]","Unusual electronic/RON or court output: current SOS paper acceptance of the exact issuer file, any legally valid conversion/notarial certification and recipient acceptance. Printed SOS-certified business outputs have an express exception; that exception is not universal. No true e-Apostille issuance capability established. [MN-01; MN-03; MN-12; MN-13; MN-17.]","Multiple company filings: actual certification grouping and apostille count; copies form lists $3 per filing plus $5 certification but does not settle every bundled order. A single-filing arithmetic example is not a universal multiple-document quote. [MN-04.]","Out-of-Convention use: receiving authority\u2019s substantive and further federal/consular requirements despite Minnesota issuing a single state certificate for every foreign destination. No country-membership catalogue changed or destination-specific chain approved. [MN-01; HCCH-01.]","Deadline-sensitive filing: current SOS receipt queue and available appointment, required record procurement/correction and return transport. The reviewed page/form publish no fixed numeric mail promise; October20 MDH queue information is historical and separate. [MN-01; MN-02; MN-07.]","Underlying-record errors, sealed/adoption/juvenile access and rejections: exact issuer/court authority, permitted correction or access procedure, resubmission and any new fee/refund. This reference does not invent a statewide free-rework policy. [MN-12; MN-18; MN-02.]","International logistics: usable return address/label and carrier service, original-paper delivery and recipient version/age/translation requirements. A scan for reference is not an electronic apostille or recipient approval. [MN-01; MN-02; HCCH-01.]"],"sourceConfidence":"High for directly inspected SOS paper-process and category instructions, actual request/business PDFs and Hennepin birth application; qualified for indexed MDH timing/notary guidance and named blocked issuer materials. Unusual electronic outputs, BCA procurement and transaction-specific recipient requirements remain unresolved. No complete-jurisdiction or live-service claim.","lastReviewed":"2026-10-25","contentUpdateUrl":"/request.html","canIssueEApostille":null,"eApostilleCapabilityNote":"HCCH records Minnesota\u2019s e-Apostille pilot from 2024-03-15 through 2025-09-30, when it ended, and confirms that its issued pilot e-Apostilles remain legitimate and validly issued e-Apostilles. This does not establish current new issuance availability; CanIssueEApostille remains unknown. Current paper-submission rules, RON authorization, printed SOS-certified company records, online verification and a scan-back are separate questions. [MN-20: pp.10,13; MN-01: FAQ Notarized Documents and Business Entity Records; MN-15; MN-17.]","apostillePhysicalSecurityLevel":"Agency-published paper description; no firsthand issued-packet inspection","apostillePhysicalSecurityFeatures":"SOS describes a black-and-white certificate stamped and stapled to the document, with a unique file number and issue date for verification. [MN-01: How is an apostille issued?; MN-15.]","apostillePhysicalSecurityNote":"Preserve the issued attachment. A scan may help review a packet but does not become an electronic original or prove recipient acceptance. [HCCH-01: Articles4\u20137; MN-01.]","targetedLawReviewDate":"2026-10-25","targetedLawReviewScope":"Limited section358.65 certificate, stamp and attachment inspection of the Revisor current-linked2025 codification. County commission recording and RON descriptions are agency guidance, not a complete current/historical notary-law corpus."}